2018 Winner

The Slow Art
Sierra Golden
Seattle, Washington

Each year we award the Dorothy Brunsman Poetry Prize ($1,000 and publication) to a writer living west of the central time zone. The contest also serves as our best pool for finding voices. (Contest Guidelines)

Washington State Book Award Winner

Woodnote has won the 2012 Washington State Book Award for poetry.

Congratulations to
Christine Deavel!
View the full press release

American Book Award Winner

Live from Fresno y Los has won a 2010 American Book Award.

Congratulations to
Stephen D. Gutierrez!
View the full press release

Bear Star no longer belongs to CLMP, but we do abide by its contest code of ethics.

Founded in 1996, Bear Star is committed to publishing the best writing it can attract from the Mountain and Pacific time zones, as well as Alaska and Hawaii. The west abounds in first-rate writers, and we are proud to be part of the poetry renaissance occurring here now. Each year we award the Dorothy Brunsman Poetry Prize ($1,000 and publication) to a writer from the region.

Now Available

A Long Late Pledge
by Wendy Willis
[Full Details]

$16.00 (Free Shipping)

The Gunnywolf
by Megan Snyder-Camp
[Full Details]

$16.00 (Free Shipping)

Leaf Is All
Poems by Drew Dillhunt
[Full Details]

$18.00 (Free Shipping)

Waking the Bones
by Melissa Mylchreest
[Full Details]

$16.00 (Free Shipping)

The Union of Geometry and Ash
by Josh Booton
[Full Details]

Interview with Josh Booton
by Late Night Library

All Bear Star's short story collections are now available for purchase on your favorite e-reading device!

Visit the Bear Star Blog: There's a Bear There

There are many things you can do to help sustain small presses such as Bear Star. For starters, try to avoid shopping the chains, which are far less likely than independent bookstores to champion new writers and small presses. Give books as gifts. Spread word of our annual competition to other poets. Send us a few stamps. It all helps!